Medieval Times is Teaching Kids to be Chivalrous

We've been to Medieval Times a few times over the last few years, and even as recently as celebrating my daughter's 8th birthday earlier this year. We love everything about the Dinner show. It's familiar and for people like my husband, who have been going to Medieval Times since he was a young boy, it's a bit nostalgic. I just learned about their Matinee show, I didn't even know they had shows during the day. The matinee program is geared more towards school aged children and has an anti-bullying message. How cool is that?

Did you know that 34 percent of all students say they have been cyberbullied at some point in their life? (Cyberbullying Research Center) Yet, more than half of bullying situations (57 percent) stop when a peer intervenes on behalf of the student being bullied (Hawkins, Pepler, and Craig, 2001). Medieval Times is on a crusade to give students the tools to combat bullying. 

We went on a Thursday and sat alongside more than 800 other students that were on their school field trips. When you stop to think that more than 100,000 students attend Medieval Times' educational matinees each year, this new show, which was two years in the making, is bound to make a positive impact.

The show is different, but in a positive way. They have several story lines that show what it's like to be mistreated by others, to be judged, and to have rumors spread about you. I think all kids above a certain age, can relate in one way or another. The knights share their Chivalrous ways with the audience and give kids a different perspective. The Knights live by "the code of chivalry" or, a knight's sworn duty to compassion, forgiveness and justice. 

The Princess also shares her perspective on bullying, when a maid spills food on the princesses dress. While others suggest that the princess fires the maid, the princess reminds everyone that accidents happen and what good would come from shaming this young maid for just that. Accidents happen to everyone and we need to be more accepting. Each time a skit end, the crowd is given a multiple choice question and just wait until you hear the crowd of kids shout their answer on the top of their lungs. This is a great way to have the kids interact with the show. 

Our Knight, the Red Knight was victorious on this day. The matinee is not only for student field trips, you can check it out too. The meal is slightly different, but delicious and satisfying for a lunch.

Here are some of the upcoming dates:

Thu, Apr 13 - 11:30 am

Tue, Apr 25 - 11:30 am

Thu, Apr 27 - 11:30 am

Thu, May 4 - 11:30 am

Fri, May 5 - 11:30 am

Tue, May 9 - 11:30 am

Thu, May 11 - 11:30 am

Mon, May 15 - 11:30 am

Tue, May 16 - 11:30 am

Wed, May 17 - 11:30 am

Thu, May 18 - 11:30 am

Fri, May 19 - 11:00 am

Mon, May 22 - 11:30 am

Wed, May 24 - 11:30 am

Thu, May 25 - 11:30 am

Wed, May 31 - 11:30 am

Thu, Jun 1 - 11:30 am

Mon, Jun 5 - 11:30 am

Tue, Jun 6 - 11:30 am

Wed, Jun 7 - 11:30 am

Thu, Jun 8 - 11:30 am

Fri, Jun 9 - 11:30 am

Wed, Jun 14 - 11:30 am

Thu, Jun 15 - 11:30 am

 

If you're interested, check out the button below for more information. It's definitely fun for the younger kids and a whole new experience. I highly recommend the Medieval Times Matinee for you and your family.